Competition Results - Prints2 2014/15

The second Print Competition of the season was held on December 1, there were two categories Portraits and Open. The judge was Pete McCloskey FRPS.

Portrait Result:  First and winner of the Clare Wallis Trophy was Magdalena Ward with Dominik; second Tony Dunkley with The Biker; third Ed Burrows LRPS with Hello. Highly commended were Ed Burrows LRPS with Craig, Glynis Dunkley with Olivia and Susie.

Open Result:  First Ted Strawson with Riverside; second Dennis Read with Cattle Egret Preening; third Pauline Watling CPAGB with Harvest Mice. Highly Commended were Gillian Birbeck ARPS with Not the Good Samaritan, Tony Dunkley with Nick Compton Out and Pauline Watling CPAGB with Women’s Mud Wrestling.

Sydenham Battle 2014

The annual Competition with Bridgwater Photographic Society on November 17 was won by Taunton Camera Club by 526 to 507 points. The prints total was Taunton 265, Bridgwater 261 and projected total was Taunton 261, Bridgwater 246. Taunton gained the maximum 20 points on six photographs and Bridgwater on four. The judge was Tony Byram EFIAP, ARPS, AWPF, DPAGB.

Bertie Gregory - An Adventure in Wildlife Photography

Monday November 10 produced an outstanding evening of pure entertainment from 21 year old Bertie Gregory with his ‘An Adventure in Wildlife Photography’. For such a young photographer Bertie produced such excellent photographs, videos and talks that he had members spellbound! He was part of the 2020 Vision Project that involved 20 professional photographers being paired with 20 young photographers, his subject was Urban Wildlife. A pair of Peregrine Falcons on the Houses of Parliament was amongst many other types of wildlife he photographed in cities and towns. When Bertie was at University he wrote to many companies in Canada, as he wanted to photograph bears in their natural habitat. Luckily, one sponsored his flight there in exchange for promotional photographs of their company. The photographs that members were shown of the bears and landscape were excellent as was the video footage as well. After that he managed to do the same in Peru where he had a fantastic time in Manu National Park photographing many different species of animals and birds.

In 2012 he was named as ‘Youth Outdoor Photographer of the Year’ and has been on an assignment with Steve Winter for National Geographic. Bertie has the makings of a great presenter as well as photographer/film maker!

Competition Results – DPIC2 2014/15

Members welcomed John Tilsley ARPS DPAGB on November 3 to judge the clubs second Digital Competition. John produced very constructive criticism and compared winning images with those that weren’t to show why they were chosen.

There were two categories Landscape and Open.


Landscape: First, and winner of the Hare Shield, David Morton DPAGB with Jetty at Dusk, second and third Nick Cable with Turbulence and Bamburgh at Sunrise. Highly commended were Richard Baker with Near Ambleside, Pauline Watling CPAGB with Blue Anchor, David Morton DPAGB with Dawn over Reine and Hamnoy Dawn.

Open: First Ed Burrows with To Be King, second Tom Wielkopolski with Misty Morning, third Tony Dunkley with Jamie Overton – Fast Bowler. Highly Commended were Tony Bagwell with Remembering Sam Wilkinson, Jeanne Bradban LRPS with Centenary Stone and Alan Grant CPAGB with Jettisoned.

Panels Competition

The Panels competition was held this year on Monday October 20, there was one for Prints and one for Digital Projected Images, members had to submit a panel of 5 photographs per entry. The judge was Taunton club member Julian Comrie FRPS, he was a prominent judge re panels submitted for various distinctions of the Royal Photographic Society. In 2010 he received the Fenton Medal for his outstanding contribution to the work of the RPS. With his vast experience, Julian gave lots of advice on the best way to present panels.

Print: First Roger Thomas with Venice, second and third Jeanne Bradban LRPS with Iceland and Statues in Woodland
Digital: First Pauline Watling CPAGB with Butterflies, second Magdalena Ward with Margo’s 20th Day, third George Reekie DPAGB with Lowland Games. Highly Commended were Pauline Watling CPAGB with Motocross Sidecar Racing and Magdalena Ward with Ballerina.